Recent Scholarships

More Scholarships

Recent Conferences

More Conference

Recent Master Programs

More Master Programs

Recent Ph.D. Announcements

More PhD Programs

HomePage

Conference: BASEES / ICCEES European Congres 2013, Europe: Crisis and Renewal, 5-8 April 2013, Cambridge‏


British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies
International Council for Central and East European Studies

European Congress 5-8 April 2013

'Europe: Crisis and Renewal'

Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge UK

The processes of political, economic, and cultural change in Europe have had a particularly strong impact upon the countries of Eastern Europe and their neighbours in the east. It is timely to reflect on and debate the ways in which Europe and the former Soviet Union has experienced and coped with crisis in all its forms, past and present.

The process of change in Eastern Europe since the fall of communism at the end of the 1980s, the accession of 10 Eastern European states to the EU and the continuing work of European integration in the former Yugoslavia make this an appropriate time to reflect on the experience of Eastern Europe, Russia and the former Soviet Union. The congress theme 'Europe: Crisis and Renewal' provides a focus to allow reflection on contemporary challenges - political, economic and social - as well as on the history of Central and Eastern Europe, Russia and the former Soviet Union.

Confirmed Keynote Speakers:
Professor Jörg Baberowski (Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Germany)
Professor Richard Sakwa (University of Kent, United Kingdom)

Academic Conference Organisers:
Dr Matthias Neumann (m.neumann@uea.ac.uk)
Prof Peter Waldron (p.waldron@uea.ac.uk)
Dr Jonathan Oldfied (Jonathan.Oldfield@glasgow.ac.uk)
Prof Stephen Hutchings (Stephen.Hutchings@manchester.ac.uk)
Panel, roundtable and paper proposals on the congress theme and on other topics in Central and East European and Slavonic Studies are welcomed (we encourage proposals for full panels/roundtables). The deadline for panel/roundtable proposals is 1 October 2012, and 14 September 2012 for individual paper proposals.

Panels, roundtables and papers are welcome in the areas of Politics; History; Economics and Geography; Film and Media, Languages and Linguistics; Literatures and Cultures; Sociology. The congress especially welcomes participation by postgraduate research students and by young scholars.

Paper, roundtable and panel proposal forms are available for download:
Panel/roundtablel proposal form
Paper proposal form
Application for financial support

Proposals should be submitted to the appropriate subject group:

history@euroiccees2013.org
politics@euroiccees2013.org
sociology-geography@euroiccees2013.org
film-media@euroiccees2013.org
economics@euroiccees2013.org
languages-linguistics@euroiccees2013.org
literatures-cultures@euroiccees2013.org

The congress also welcomes proposals for postgraduate posters. The poster will be displayed throughout the conference. Please submit your proposal electronically as an attachment to the conference email address info@euroiccees2013.org AND the BASEES Postgraduate Liaison officer Dr Matthias Neumann m.neumann@uea.ac.uk by 1 DECEMBER 2012.
Download the poster proposal form

The congress will be based at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge.

General enquiries about the congress are welcome at info@euroiccees2013.org